LegacyGT.com

Rough when cold

Omen

I did a search on this and it was of some help but I can't understand why the Legacy feels so rough when it is cold. This morning I started it up and I thought well I'll just give it a few blips from the throttle to get it warming up a little faster (I have never done that before. I usually just let it idle and then just baby it for the first few miles) and when I reved it:eek: damn it sounded like it was going to break (a little exaggerated but not by much LOL). So I just drove off and babied it for a few miles till it warmed up.

Is this really normal for the Leggy to be so delicate and rough when it is cold? I just really hope nothing is wrong with it. Any thoughts?

While it certainly isn't objectionable, I have noticed that my LGT is a bit on the cold-blooded side for a modern car. Fires right up, but there is the occasion lump in the idle. Actually, since my equal length header install, I've noticed that cold operation is smoother, and in general the idle is smoother. If you are experiencing any worse than a couple lumps in the idle when cold, I'd have the dealer check it out.

I hope you mean just a little rev to smooth out the idle and not a full on rev like you are getting ready for the Daytona 500. Never race a cold engine!

I have used the mini rev (like to 2000RPM) to get my idle to drop but that was usually in an auto and it was REALLY cold.

How cold out was it?

Are these autos or manuals? I'm having an issue with my auto. If I run the car for like 3-4 minutes and come to a stop the idle will drop to about 300rpms. If I then lift my foot off of the brake but give no gas the car will shudder or sometimes stall. It will start right back up no problem. When the car first starts it's not a problem and when the engine is hot it's no problem. Ideas?