LegacyGT.com

Prepping for clutch replacement - need some guidance.

vr4Legacy

I have 68k on my odo now and want to replace/upgrade my clutch preventively, instead of ending up needing to at a bad time. The car still drives fine and pulls strong. I don't notice any slipping, but I do want to start saving now and reasearching to find a good combo so when the time comes, I'm ready to roll. I'm thinking late spring I'll probably do the upgrade.

I have 2 main questions.

Shoud I do the install or take it to a reputable shop? I don't have a garage or trans jack. So the install would add $70 for a harbor freight tranny jack I would probably use once.. And this is my DD, so if I don't get it doen in my alotted time I'm SOL.... I do feel I am a good DIY mechanic, but I haven't done much with clutches. I did put one in a late 70's Chevy truck I had... but I could swim under that hood :lol:

If I do pay, what should I expect a good quote to be, just for the install?

2nd... What setup is suggested? I know this has been asked many times, but I can't find alot of recent discussion around different setups for a DD. Maybe I just suck at searching on here, if so please educate me ;)

FYI - I have an '08 LGT 5MT - Bone Stock. Have no immediate intentions of upgrading. Maybe AP/ECU tune and some exhaust in a few years... possibly bigger turbo, but again it will be a couple years until then. I want to stay on a low budget, but want to do it right. I like to drive aggressive and push my car when I can. My driving is an even mix of highway/city but here in WV, city is stop and go at lights only :)

Thanks in advance for any discussion and info.

sadly there is no low budget for the LGT clutch i'm finding. The cheapest way for quality would be to grab the ACT HD street disc clutch, and nab a 06-07 WRX flywheel off someone on Nasioc. Before the install, get the flywheel and have it resurfaced and the pilot bearing replaced, then elot the weekend for the install.