LegacyGT.com

Passing Emissions

root_galaxy

Hey guys, I'm still pretty new to the Subi scene trying to learn lots before I get in to really modifying my car. I have an 09 LGT 5EAT and would like to eventually start make it stage 2+ on E85. My question Is, how well do our cars do on passing emissions with that kind of set up? Also, anyone running catless DP and passing? Thanks for your help guys!

Denver is AirCare Colorado emissions testing. You need either your stock downpipe with the two cats or a special high flow cat that 5250 Performance can install for you.

With a traditional high flow race cat, like the kind that come on aftermarket downpipes, you can sometimes get by if you go through the mobile testing stations on on-ramps enough times, but most cars will not pass the rolling test.

That means every two years you have to swap in your stock downpipe, so when the stocker isn't on, you aren't emissions legal.

If you get one of the new technology race cats, you are emissions legal 100% of the time and it is no restriction to power.

(Updated 8/22/17)

2005 Outback FMT

Running on Electrons

Take into account there is a visual check as well. So even if you pass the exhaust test you can still fail emissions if you do not have the same # of cats as a stock vehicle does.

This is correct. My setup w/ a cobb HFC passes numbers. It does not pass visual.

FWIW, I got mine done not too long ago at the station up in Erie/Frederick area right off of Hwy52. I first went in with my aftermarket DP installed just to see how close I could get, and if I could get away with not changing it out with a little E85. The readings were somewhat close, but I failed on one, the NOX if I remember right. Went home, swapped my stock downpipe on, went back and passed with flying colors. I would just hold on to your stock DP and swap it out when you need to pass. Did not receive a visual inspection on either of the tests however.