LegacyGT.com

P&L Performance Tuning Chicago

I have been searching for turbos and tunes for quite some time and every time I come across a post with someone from the Midwest (like myself) asking about P&L or saying they are getting tuned there, almost immediately members say 'use caution' or better to use Infamous1.

I am by no means a pro 'this guy or that guy' because I am still very new to the process and know no one. However, with P&L being so close and A LOT of posted dyno sheets coming from P&L I am curious what are the concerns (bad tunes, poor service, limited knowledge, etc) members have? :confused: They are safe to dyno with buy not tune?

For those members who suggested to steer clear of P&L (which is fine) where should I go in the Midwest for a good road & dyno tune for my LGT. Again I would need to speak with someone about the needed parts for my end goals, etc. Not sure I would be happy not conducting that conversation face to face.

Thanks,

Charles

They used to have a great reputation, but that has changed somewhat over the last year or so. IIRC their tuner left recently so I am not sure what they are up to now. Several forum members have had work done there.

Running a car on the dyno and doing a tune are 2 different things. Some skill is required to use the dyno, but it is very general and I have yet to see a shop that can't work their dyno - although I am sure they are out there.

I would use an Infamous1 mail order tune or figure out how to do it yourself - it is not that difficult.

Had my car tuned there 3yrs ago. Overall experience I would say is 3/5 stars.

My car spent a lot of time on the dyno because of a leak that couldnt be found. Thanks to rao for helping me locally a few days later in finding the leak at the TMIC+TB hose. Got the car back to P&L for dyno.