LegacyGT.com

Learning view.. IAM .5?

speedyblue

Hello. I'm brand new to tuning. I just hooked my new vag-com cable up to my 2005 gt wagon and tried out Learning View. I see the IAM is .5. All other values are 0.

So.. does this mean my car is slightly retarding timing in interest of curtailing knock?

I will also say that I changed my oil myself on Saturday.. it was WAY overfilled from the monkeys at the dealership. Like.. 3 inches past the full mark. I've only gone 15 miles since the oil change.

I'm also in Colorado running the terrible winter gas 91 octane.

Before I did the 'Learning View' I used ecuflash to download the stock rom. Just reading the ECU should not reset the ECU... or should it?

Just wondering if I should be concerned. Thanks!

The reflash set IAM to .5 You need to drive around enough to relearn. Then check IAM.

Done! Yeah apparently 'reading' the ECU also resets it. I took another learning view after driving to and from work (about 18 miles). IAM is at 1. The airflow numbers had some additions and subtractions.. but the other table with the rpms were all zero.

Air flow numbers are rich and lean. But it is how rich or lean and which block that matters most.

The RPM tables are knock correction. Seeing all 0 means the ECU is not pulling any timing due to knock. This is good.

You are learning. Isn't it fun? Why don't they do this kind of stuff in school? Heck tuning is just math. If they taught a tuning class, I would have paid more attention. LOL.

Air flow numbers are rich and lean. But it is how rich or lean and which block that matters most.

So i suppose that if my L-V screenshots always have red (negative) numbers in the Airflow table (the small table at the top) its not good? I aslo have all 0's accross the board for timing being pulled!

JP

• Mega Users