LegacyGT.com

Getting ready for the track - input appreciated

rosscarlson

Everyone,

I'm getting my new 09 Spec.B ready for this season's track events. First a little about me and what I'd like to do. I've been doing track work for a few years now. I've probably got about 10 days total at the track, including 3 BMW schools and a Lotus racing school. I'm doing another Lotus school in April this year. So I'm doing a lot to tune myself so to speak.

On to the car. So far I've ordered the following upgrades:

- Wilwood BBK (4 piston up front, slotted rotors/lines all around, Hawk street and track pads)

- 17x8 MB Gear rims (19lbs so not light but lighter than stock)

- Bridgestone Potenza RE-01r tires for the 17's (245/45/17)

- K-Sport adjustable coilovers (front/rear)

What I'm ordering next

- Front/rear adjustable sway bars

- CAI

- Down pipe

- Custom tune

I think this should give me a very good balance between power and handling, with handling more important to me (I do only roar course work, no drag/autocross). In my group of car friends I'll be driving with this season we have: Audi R8, 911 Turbo, many e46 M3's, Audi S4, Porsche Caymen, Mazda Rx8, etc. My goal is to be competitive with them. My previous car was a 2007 350z and with it stock I was able to hang with, if not be faster than most of them. My questions are:

- Do you think with those mods I'll be able to hold my own?

- What other/different mods would you suggest?

- I'm very new to all this, especially the motor mods so any help there is VERY appreciated.

Thanks everyone!!!

-Ross

I'd skip the CAI since I don't believe it will add power and will complicate the tune. I think you'd get more benefit and less hassle with an aftermarket exhaust. Sounds like you will have a very nice setup!

My '05 LGT

My '07 Supercharged Shelby