LegacyGT.com

EJ22T rebuild questions.

As some of you know I was given a scrapped '93 touring wagon. I am going to pull the EJ22T block soon and start to dismantle it. I will also remove the wiring harness and ECU. My plan is to rebuild it and put it in my lovely second gen wagon. I would love to hear some opinions on how I should rebuild it, or what would you do if you could do your dream build.

I plan on taking a year or so to rebuild it, so if you are on the edge of your seat scoot back. This engine will go in my Second Gen Leggy. I plan on getting a WRX 5MT or 6MT STi transmission to swap in as well, along with new axles, etc. I have new KYB GR2s w/Tein lowering springs and a Whiteline RSB, and will be installing SS brakes since I have a set. Also, I will remove the crossmember from the SS wagon and will keep the downpipe in case I decide to use it later.

I am still learning about this stuff so bear with me. I have a bit of experience with 22Ts as I recently rebuilt the engine on my stock SS (all new seals, timing, HGs, etc.)

What I want is a well built, reliable engine to swap in to my wagon so it will be a monster sleeper that is capable of keeping up with the STIs around town and at the very least beat all the WRXs. Like I said, I will take my time and do it right.

One of my simplest options would be to keep the stock heads and ecu. PNP the heads, regrind the cams, and install a tmic and TD04, and upgrade the exhaust.

Another option is to find some 20G heads and ecu. Have rob chip the ECU, and call it a day.

Or find some WRX or STi heads and...? It would be nice to be able to tune the engine.

So help a noob out? What would you do? Thanks guys! :)

2.5D heads. Great flowing heads. This is all I know. Also go check out USMB and BBS Legacy Central. Those guys know more about the EJ22T than these guys.

They also know what you should do to keep it reliable.