LegacyGT.com

DIY E85 Conversion

Legend

This thread is NOT about the feasability of running E85 in our cars, nor is it about the politics of E85. It's not even about optimal tuning for E85. Please keep it to the fuel conversion itself. Thanks.

Disclaimer: I've done this just once on my own car. I am not a mechanic or a tuner. There are probably other good ways of doing this, but this worked nicely and is pretty easy. Be patient and safe at every step. Check your logger and logs.

Prerequisites:

· Hardware: upgraded injectors, upgraded fuel pump, WB02, laptop, Tactrix cable

· Software: RomRaider (use lambda fuel definitions), EcuFlash, Learning View, configure WBO2 to display lambda

· Tune: Good gas tune with nicely scaled MAF and injectors. LTFT's should be near zero.

· Knowledge/Experience: Experience with software, ability to analyze logs

· E85!

1. Make 2 changes to your existing map. Both changes add 30% more fuel. Yes, that's it for the changes and you now have an E85 map. It's not optimized yet, but that's it for the conversion itself.

a) Multiply existing injector scalar by 0.6975

b) Multiply tip-in table by 1.3. (EDIT 9-25-09: This suggestion is theoretical, based upon suggestions in the NASIOC FAQ. I haven't seen evidence to suggest this is an absolute and other multipliers may work better, worse, or the same. It is what I did and has worked well for me.)

2. Arrive at gas station with a half gallon or less of straight gas in the tank. Bring laptop, new map, and Tactrix cable.

3. Add 2 gallons of E85. Flash new map.

4. Start your logger. Start engine. (It should start with a rough idle for a couple seconds and then smooth out pretty nicely.)

5. Sit and watch STFT's and LTFT's on logger for 5-10 minutes. They'll probably probably go negative due to the straight gas still in the tank. That's fine.