LegacyGT.com

Coilovers vs Lowering Springs?

2.5i

Newbie here. I want to lower my car, especially the front which sits up like 1.5 in higher than the back. What are the differences between coilovers and lowering springs? Handling is very important to me, I won’t need to adjust height after, and I’m not looking to cheap out either. If anyone has suggestions on what to get let me know please.

Newbie here. I want to lower my car, especially the front which sits up like 1.5 in higher than the back. What are the differences between coilovers and lowering springs? Handling is very important to me, I won’t need to adjust height after, and I’m not looking to cheap out either. If anyone has suggestions on what to get let me know please.

Ultimately depends on what your goals and budget are. You mentioned that handling is really important to you and that you don't need to adjust height afterwards. Fronts generally sit higher due to "saggy butt". I've seen a lot of springs lower the front more to compensate for this and there are also "saggy butt" spacers as well to even out the ride height front and back.

Sounds like you would be better off getting a set of Konis matched with a good quality lowering spring. I've been debating this myself too but for entry level coilovers (~$1000), they aren't really the best at handling and ride comfort.

Hey... just getting into the Legacy world and I'm in a similar boat. At this point, I'm trying to decide between the Koni package w/ springs (around $750+) or just go with entry coils which are around $1000 give or take. Vehicle will be a daily to the true sense of the word (around 70 miles a day) so I'm really trying to figure out comfort level. Lots of info out there but it's fairly difficult to put it all into context. GL with your search and I'll comment on here if I find any good info (even though there is a lot on this forum)