LegacyGT.com

Clutch issues... 05 LGT stock @ 43k miles

Admrl

First, from what im reading im not the only one having this issue.

Second, i do understand that driving has a lot to do with clutch wear and tear, so let me nip that in the bud now: I drove a POS cavalier to 135k on the original clutch, and i was WAY harder on my cavalier than i am on my Legacy.

I never launch it, i dont race it, and i hardly ever really even get on it. Its basically a daily driver. Ive been driving standard for 9 years, and the only clutch failure ive ever had was the cavaliers throw out ebaring disintegrating one day.

That said:

I parked my car at the airport when i left for a business trip. It felt PERFRECTLY NORMAL when i left it there. I come back 4 days later, and when i go to drive it, the clutch pedal feels like its vibrating when i lift it up, and it takes less physical pressure to push on it. Less than a day later, its toast.

I was driving it around town, and noticed in 4th gear, it would just rev to holy hell and wouldnt pick up speed. So i nursed it all the way to the dealership, where its sitting now. It has fluid, etc.

Obviously theyre saying clutches arent covered, but wtf? A 2 year old car with 43k miles on it and the clutch just gave out? Compared to most people here, i baby that car, because its NOT my toy car. Its my daily car.

So theyre going to look at it, but wtf? If i replace it, i dont want to put something back in there thats going to fall apart in another 43k. But shit...

EDIT: BTW, this car is one hundred percent stock, except for a STS and a shift boot, LOL...

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Keep in mind that w/ an AWD car, the clutch takes a lot more abuse than with a FWD or RWD because there's no wheelspin to help dissipate excess power on takeoff. That said, however, 43k isn't much on a stock clutch. I have the same amount on my 05 LGT and now you have me worried. :(