LegacyGT.com

AWD - what does it do for you?

I'm sure half the people clicking on this will think I'm asking a question, and the other half that know I've been driving turbo legacies for some 5-6 years know I've found the gin again. ;) But I do see a lot of new faces here, and there will be more in the future. So I'm here to talk about the reality behind the hype. Is AWD magical? In and of itself, no. There are a lot of drivetrain choices that are labeled AWD that will do little for you in reality, besides getting yourself going out of a poor traction situation that you likely shouldn't have gotten yourself into in the first place. Subaru's system isn't very complex, it doesn't do a lot of neat tricks, and it isn't the latest and greatest. What it is is the mountain goat of AWD systems - it works *very* well, it is rugged, it is more efficient with less parasitic loss than most other full-time AWD systems, and it's lack of electronics makes it predictable. Doesn't having AWD mean that I have more traction? Nope. No, really. You don't. Seriously. You simply have a more balanced distribution of torque to the wheels, which is allowing better control of the traction that *is* there. What that means is that in braking and cornering, in equally balanced cars of equal rubber size and composition, equal weight, basically, everything equal - they will have exactly the same levels of corner grip whether AWD, RWD, or FWD. However, if you are cornering under power, AWD vs. the others *does* have some benefits, simply because the power is balanced better among all four tyres than the usual one or two tyres. AWD means I don't need snow tyres for snow. No. See above - you don't have more traction. You simply have more ability to get moving in a straight line. And if you learned to drive in a studly rally style like I did delivering pizzas in the snow for 3 years, you can use that straight line traction in corners - ie, you will be totally sideways and using that straight line tra