LegacyGT.com

Automatic vs stick.

prof555

Im looking for some feed back on transmission choice in a Legacy GT. Im looking to pick up a nice used 2005/2006 Legacy as my everyday car. Im a college Professor in CT and i put about 10,000 miles a year in a combination of city/highway. Lots of Subarus in the family; my son drives an STI, my daughter in NY has my old 98 Legacy GT wagon with stick, my wife has a 2004 automatic Legacy GT wagon and Im banging around in a nice 1999 2.2 automatic wagon; great car but too slow. I also have a Nissan Z car which is my everyday summer car. The basic decision is simple..(I have always preferred standard shift cars and the automatic in my 99 is not exactly terrific.) Ive been told that I will LOVE the automatic in the new GT, that there really isnt much performance difference between it and the standard shift car and that the clutch action in the new car is a PIA. Quite frankly Ive been too busy to drive either one; I plan on doing so shortly but I thought I might get some feedback from owners of current GTs. Thanks.

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have the 5spd, and I find it a bit difficult to drive the car smoothly(the clutch). When I commute by myself, it's not a big issue and I don't really care. When my wife is in the car, she makes wise cracks about the lack of smoothness with my shifts and starts, and I see my dog has a hard time standing up as I go through the gears unless I accellerate slowly.

Somedays I wish I got the 5EAT, other days I realize that I really am a stick shift guy and I wouldn't be happy with a Auto for long, and I'd probably would have gotten rid of the car by now.....