LegacyGT.com

Anyone have EMS/Fire lights on their vehicle?

liljay794

Sup fella's. I am a volunteer EMT for a local ambulance squad, and I will also soon be a firefighter (just waiting for the doctor paper work to come back). And pretty soon, I'll need to light up my car :spin: My friend told me that there might be a problem installing police strobes in my headlights because I have HID's. Is that true? The fire chief drives an 08 Escalade and he couldn't put police strobes in his headlights because of the HID's. I'm guessing the Escalade HID setup is different than the LGT? Since the HID bulb is basically sealed, I don't really see a problem drilling a small hole into the headlight to put a strobe light in. I was guessing to put them in the high beam area so I'm away from the HID. Any idea if its safe?

Our cars don't have HID's stock. It's just a projector in there. It looks like HID's but it's not. It's a regular H7 bulb in there.

Yes, I am aware, but the thing is, I have aftermarket HID's. To clarify my question from before, is it safe to put police strobes in the high beam area and not affect the HID's at all?

The strobe pulse could potentially mess up the ballast of an HID light. But there's alot of what if's that have to line up just right.

the other shop that did your buddies caddy may have just said that cause they:

A) Didn't know any better

B) Didn't wnat to put them there cause it's too much work

C) They may actually have issues in close proximity with HIDs

D) They hate cops

E) All of the above

(Updated 8/22/17)

2005 Outback FMT

Running on Electrons