LegacyGT.com

Accessport V1 vs. V2 vs. opensource?

Fijiphil

Hey all,

Im still a noob with Subarus, and have been researching here over the past few weeks, but still am not clear on a few things.

So, whats the difference between the AP V1 and V2? I see they look different, but I havent been able to find anything that talks about better features of the V2.

I have an 05 Legacy gt 5mt, and want to keep it basically stock and daily driver friendly. As of now, its bone stock. The only thing Ive done is purchased a Cobb turbo back exhaust, but have not installed it yet. Im planning on buying an up pipe to put on at the same time. Other than that, I may get an intake, assuming I can safely run it without a custom dyno tune.

Ive read a lot about opensourece tuning, and it seems really interesting! It seems to be more affordable than an accessport. Id just be worried about getting a tune that isnt safe in the long run. Are there any dyno graphs comparing a mildly modded car with an opensorce tune versus an AP?

I realize comparing the power output from different opensource tuners may be like comparing apples to oranges, given differences in dynos used, weather conditions etc.

Sorry if this is a ramble, these are just questions I still have after searching around. I guess bottom line, Id love to save any money I can on this, but I am much more interested in doing it right and not running a dangerous tune that is too lean or timing too advanced etc.

Any help is appreciated! :) Thanks!

well I have the AP V2 and the most important thing is that the MAPs get updated when bugs are reported. I could be wrong but i do not think cobb updats for V1 anymore.

In order to run a turbo back you need a stage 2 map.

2006 Legacy GT 5EAT Perrin UP, SPT CAI, OBXR CBE, Catless DP, Perrin TMIC, Stage 2 AP tune

Soon after BNR 16G, Infamous Tune