LegacyGT.com

Accessport tune - Major Knocking

nrmustang

Hi All, Brand Noob here with an AP question.

I have an 05' 5EAT LGT bone stock (except K&N Panel Filter), I bought a used V2 AP, updated it and threw in the ACN91 Stage 1 map (California gas).

At the top end I get bad knocking/Det, right around redline. I datalogged it and the DAM shows "0" all the way until a bit of load is put on it. Then it goes as high as 6.5 - starts dropping - then about redline hits between -.50 to -2.0 (which is very audible).

What gives? From everything I read, the DAM should stay consistently at 1 right? Why the "0"? Does the car need to "settle" into the tune. Has anyone else had this problem out of the box?

Im new to modding my LGT, but not modding in general. My SCT's for my 03' Cobras & Mach-1 didn't do this. And my Predator for my SS Camaro didn't do this. Is the LGT just more sensitive, or is there something I'm missing? But to be fair to Cobb, biggest handheld tuner power I've seen aside from my Cobra SCT by far! If I can figure this out it'll be an ANIMAL!

Thanks in advance

DAM (Dynamic Advance Multiplier) should be at 1, yes. I don't know how you would get a -6.5 though, that doesn't make sense or -2. That's not how DAM works. I haven't had an AP in a log while, but I suspect you are mixing up DAM with a different logging parameter.

What Cobb calls DAM is the same as ROMRaider calling it IAM (Ignition Advance Multiplier)

Your car shouldn't have to settle in with a tune, at least not like this. There will be some learning involved, but you shouldn't be getting severe knock, certainly not something you can actually hear.

Log the following parameters and post the logs:

DAM

Engine Load

Throttle plate/position

Knock sum

Feedback Knock Control

Fine Learning Knock Control

Total Timing

Boost

Mass Airflow

Mass Airflow voltage

Wastegate duty

Engine speed