Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Transmissions (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   5EAT TCU Reset w/FreeSSM (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=202482)

FunkyMonkey 02-27-2013 08:33 AM

5EAT TCU Reset w/FreeSSM
 
I saw several posts on this put I want to just make sure I am doing this correctly.

1. Connect cable to car
2. Configure cable with FreeSSM
3. Select Transmission
4. Select "Clear Memory 2"
5. Drive car, car relearns shift points.

IS THIS CORRECT ? :confused:

THANK YOU

laff79 02-27-2013 08:37 AM

Yes. For the first few miles, do some WOT driving. Really beat on it for a bit. I was told that putting in sport mode and manually going through the gears shifting at 5-5500 also does the trick.

FunkyMonkey 02-27-2013 01:04 PM

I have also heard to clear memory 1 ? What does that do ?

nimrod685 02-28-2013 08:06 PM

Sayyyyy whaaat? I guess I need to do some research on this. Been having tranny problems not sure what they are

notthesnail 03-15-2013 10:51 AM

Memory 2 is all you need to clear. You'll experience slipping and slam shifts as it learns. Drive as many different scenarios as you can (city, highway, fast, slow, aggressive, meek, full auto, sport, manual).

FunkyMonkey 03-16-2013 07:02 AM

Perfect. I did mem2 only. Its shifting better. Thanks

volodyalysak 03-16-2013 10:46 PM

What if i disconnect battery and step on brakes ? Will this reset tranny as well as the ECU ?
I have harsh shifts when cold from 1-2 2-3 . When it warms up to operating temperature it is smooth.

notthesnail 03-20-2013 09:18 AM

Power loss should not reset the learned codes in the TCU. Once you do reset the codes, there are two re-learn options: Natural (described above), and Programmed, which has you manually rowing through the gears at prescribed throttle angles. Post 40 of another recent thread has this procedure in detail.

Joeboo98 03-29-2013 07:32 AM

I just got my '05 GT and I have found that when I am driving it that when I am stopped for a light or something that the car is still trying to go. I don't know if I do a reset on the TCU if that would fix that problem or if it would be a different problem. I just got a Cobb Accessport for the car. I haven't played with that yet but can you do the reset on the TCU with the accessport or what do I need to connect to the car to reset the TCU.

volodyalysak 03-30-2013 06:40 AM

So you saying, that you have to press brakes harder to keep it from rolling ? I have the same issue, and i think it is throttle position sensor or gas pedal sensor. Mine is +7% at idle. Try to lift your gas pedal UP while at stop light, and see if something changes.

Joeboo98 03-30-2013 09:07 AM

I will try that to see if that helps. I was just hoping it wasn't the transmission. A sensor is a easy fix then the transmission.

FunkyMonkey 03-30-2013 10:26 AM

I dont think accessport has anything to do with ur TCU dude. U have to use FreeSSM to reset ur TCU, but I doubt ur issue has anything to do with TCU reset. Sounds like Accessport settings


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


LegacyGT.com