Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Third Generation Legacy (1999 - 2004) (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=96)
-   -   2003 Engine Rebuild? (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=198820)

GoBlueJays 12-29-2012 11:22 AM

2003 Engine Rebuild?

I'm completely new to this website, so I apologize if I'm putting this in the wrong place.

I have a 2003 Subaru Legacy with 120,000 miles on it. Money is tight and the key objective is to pinch pennies. I am not technically sophisticated; I'm trying to figure out, over the next year, whether or not I should just keep driving the car, have the engine rebuilt (I don't even know what that means), or buy a new Subaru (maybe an Outback wagon with 50,000 miles on it).

The car leaks oil as is evident from oil drops it leaves where I park it. I have a trusted mechanic who says it's leaking oil from the head gasket, and now, from another part of the engine that I can't remember. He wants to know if I want him to price out an engine rebuild.

I really like this car, and would prefer to keep it.

What do you think? I assume I will save big bucks by doing the rebuild vs. buying a new Subaru. Do you agree? What will happen if I don't do the rebuild, and just keep driving the car?

Thanks!

rSTimpreza 12-29-2012 03:06 PM

Why do you need a rebuilt? because of leaking oil?

leaking oil in the valve cover gasket is normal with our cars with high mileage. all it needs is to change the gasket. make sure and check where else is leaking....

120k is not to bad unless your car starts overheating coz of the headgasket then you need a rebuild. rebuild consist of taking your engine out of the car and opening it, that cost a lot.