Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Fifth Generation Legacy (2010 - ) (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   DRL - Bumper (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=196562)

Scooby Fan 11-18-2012 09:25 AM

DRL - Bumper

I am new to 5th Gen Leggies....been driving a 2006 LGT since it was new but now have a 2012 Legacy Ltd. I keep seeing references on here about taking the front bumper off to do certain service item (primarily headlight bulbs)...I assume that means the bumper skin and not the actual bumper?? Is there a walk through on this anywhere or is it just start undoing poppets until it lands in your lap :lol: A step be step would be nice.
I asked in another thread about doing the DRL delete but no one answered at all....is it the same as the 4th Gen cars where you just unplug the multi pin connector under the left side of the dash??

Is this it for the 5th gen also
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b3...S/LGT-DRL2.jpg

Jace2010LGT 11-18-2012 10:41 AM

To delete the drls turn the wheels to the right, pull the front part of the fender liner down. You will see a metal box plugged in. Simply unplug it and drl is gone. To remove the bumper. Search for his install. Someone did a bumper removal walk through.

Jace2010LGT 11-18-2012 10:46 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Pics of drl box and connector. Sorry for the chemical burn mechanic hand in pic.

Gen5is 11-18-2012 03:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jace2010LGT (Post 4163742)
Pics of drl box and connector. Sorry for the chemical burn mechanic hand in pic.

Those are some gnarly wounds.

Scooby Fan 11-18-2012 04:15 PM

Thanks guys...get that hand looked at....OUCH!!! I hope that is not the consequence of deleting the DRL module ;)

Scooby Fan 11-18-2012 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jace2010LGT (Post 4163736)