Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Fourth Generation Legacy (2005 - 2009) (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Remap Required? (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=196370)

Telephonewire 11-14-2012 11:28 AM

Remap Required?
 
I have just had my engine rebuilt following a big end failure.

I have gone for 'like for like' pistons and upgraded STI rods as the original rods were only 'thin' WRX equivalents.

I've had some hesitation with low speed driving, since the rebuild, and my mapper says that as the engine has been rebuilt it won't be the same as it was and hence I will need it re-mapping again. I know this is the 'safe' option but he lives 3 hrs drive away and of course will charge me another mapping session!

The hesitation has now gone away again and the car now 'appears' to be driving well throughout the entire rev / load range.

I know many people get their cars re-mapped using open source ECU Flash / Rom Raider etc. simply by sending some data logs to their mapper who in turn makes some tweaks and sends a new map back to be flashed onto their ECU.

My question is can I determine if my car really needs another re-map by getting someone to review some data logs taken via Rom Raider or is it necessary for a mapper to hook up to the car with a wide band lambda sensor and PC in order to determine if a remap is necessary?

Thanks.
Telephonewire.

12sechatch 11-14-2012 11:39 AM

how much money did you just spend on the rebuild?

is it not worth a saturday and $300-400 more to make it healthy and happy?







that is the nice way of saying, "you blew it up once, go get it tuned properly so it doesnt happen again".

Max Capacity 11-14-2012 11:57 AM

Yes, get it tuned.

Check the Vendor forum here, I use Tuningalliance.com for my cars. He did a street tune after I put the new shortblock in.

It's less then 300.

AZP Installs 11-14-2012 12:00 PM

Yes, get it tuned.

-Mike Paisan

http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/91072632.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/14...8/original.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/133406601.jpg http://www.whiteline.com.au/images/logos/perf1.jpg
11+ Years Maintaining, Modifying and Educating TriState Subaru Enthusiasts.
Call directly as We carry almost every manufacturer now, so before you buy parts call us.

Like us on Facebook! | E-mail: sales@azpinstalls.com | 725 Fairfield Ave | Kenilworth, NJ 07033 | 908.248.AZP1 (2971) | T-1 Certified Amsoil Direct Jobber |AIM: AZP Installs
"Race Tested, Enthusiast Approved!"

Telephonewire 11-15-2012 02:03 PM

Hi Everyone...

Thanks for all your advice.

If I could put the question slightly differently...

I am more than happy to get the car remapped if it needs it but...
I would rather avoid the hassle (3hr drive there and 3hr drive back again) and save the money of another mapping session if the car does not need it!

Is it possible to determine if the car actually needs remapping by taking some data logs and getting them analysed?

Max Capacity 11-15-2012 02:59 PM

If you can do all that, why not just have the Tuner email new map based on your data logs ?

Where do you live, may be there is a Tuner closer to you. Mine is 10 minutes away.

ibr_adam09 11-15-2012 06:33 PM

How soon can you start tuning on a new shortblock, Like when is it ok to do several 3rd gear WOT pulls ?

AZP Installs 11-15-2012 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Telephonewire (Post 4160391)
Hi Everyone...

Thanks for all your advice.

If I could put the question slightly differently...

I am more than happy to get the car remapped if it needs it but...
I would rather avoid the hassle (3hr drive there and 3hr drive back again) and save the money of another mapping session if the car does not need it!

Is it possible to determine if the car actually needs remapping by taking some data logs and getting them analysed?

You can always do an e-tune, but they are never as good as an actual in-car tune.

-Mike Paisan

http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/91072632.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/14...8/original.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/133406601.jpg http://www.whiteline.com.au/images/logos/perf1.jpg
11+ Years Maintaining, Modifying and Educating TriState Subaru Enthusiasts.
Call directly as We carry almost every manufacturer now, so before you buy parts call us.

Like us on Facebook! | E-mail: sales@azpinstalls.com | 725 Fairfield Ave | Kenilworth, NJ 07033 | 908.248.AZP1 (2971) | T-1 Certified Amsoil Direct Jobber |AIM: AZP Installs
"Race Tested, Enthusiast Approved!"

AZP Installs 11-15-2012 06:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ibr_adam09 (Post 4160771)
How soon can you start tuning on a new shortblock, Like when is it ok to do several 3rd gear WOT pulls ?

You want to do about 1000 miles of break in before getting tuned or doing WOT.

-Mike Paisan

http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/91072632.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/14...8/original.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/133406601.jpg http://www.whiteline.com.au/images/logos/perf1.jpg
11+ Years Maintaining, Modifying and Educating TriState Subaru Enthusiasts.
Call directly as We carry almost every manufacturer now, so before you buy parts call us.

Like us on Facebook! | E-mail: sales@azpinstalls.com | 725 Fairfield Ave | Kenilworth, NJ 07033 | 908.248.AZP1 (2971) | T-1 Certified Amsoil Direct Jobber |AIM: AZP Installs
"Race Tested, Enthusiast Approved!"

fahr_side 11-15-2012 08:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Telephonewire (Post 4158678)
upgraded STI rods as the original rods were only 'thin' WRX equivalents.

I'd like to know who sold you that. GDB STi rods are the same part as all other EJ255 models!

You could do a few pulls and post your logs here for analysis. Pretty easy to spot if anything is so wrong as to require a new tune.

AZP Installs 11-16-2012 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fahr_side (Post 4160893)
I'd like to know who sold you that. GDB STi rods are the same part as all other EJ255 models!

You could do a few pulls and post your logs here for analysis. Pretty easy to spot if anything is so wrong as to require a new tune.

Same people who claim the STi block is different. :)

-Mike Paisan

http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/91072632.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/14...8/original.jpg http://www.pbase.com/paisan/image/133406601.jpg http://www.whiteline.com.au/images/logos/perf1.jpg
11+ Years Maintaining, Modifying and Educating TriState Subaru Enthusiasts.
Call directly as We carry almost every manufacturer now, so before you buy parts call us.

Like us on Facebook! | E-mail: sales@azpinstalls.com | 725 Fairfield Ave | Kenilworth, NJ 07033 | 908.248.AZP1 (2971) | T-1 Certified Amsoil Direct Jobber |AIM: AZP Installs
"Race Tested, Enthusiast Approved!"

LegacyDan 11-16-2012 07:33 AM

Telephonewire has a jdm twinscroll, running vf36 setup similar to mine. He is locked down on Ecutek software and only the original mapper can change it. internals are very different in the EJ20Y compared to the EJ255 you guys get. Doesnt really like much over stock power levels! as we both learned the hard way!

Post some logs here Jeffrey for the guys to have a look at for you. What parameters should he be looking at?

fahr_side 11-16-2012 08:20 AM

EcuTek needs to leave the village at the tip of a pitchfork lit by torches.

LegacyDan 11-16-2012 09:13 AM

I agree. I chased it out of my village many moons ago!

Telephonewire 11-19-2012 03:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hi,

My car is 'stuttering' around 2,000 rpm under light boost.

You can see the 'stuttering' by looking at the RPM column in the attached log file going up and down.

Can anyone determine why this is happening by looking at the log file?

Thanks.

Telephonewire.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


LegacyGT.com