Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Interior/Audio (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Remote Starters...What do you have? Looking to install one. (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=195669)

Wicked 11-01-2012 04:34 AM

Remote Starters...What do you have? Looking to install one.
 
I did a search and didn't come up with much as to what everyone has and how they like it. Give a review of what you have:

What Brand/Model do you have?
How much did you pay installed?
What would you get if you did it again?


I'm looking to install one in my Legacy before winter. I'm debating between a couple different Compustar models. Def. want a 2 way remote. I'm between the http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-2W940-SS.php and http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-2W940-SS.php. They also have a Pro series http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-P2W901-SS.php but other than the look of the remote and a 2 year warrenty of the remote I can't see any feature differences.

premieras 11-01-2012 09:09 AM

Compustar FTX-2400
 
I would HIGHLY recommend the FTX-2400 Remote from Compustar. We install remote starters for a living and can tell you that this is hands down the nicest aftermarket remote to ever come to market. The quality of this remote is unlike any we've ever seen. Feels and looks like a high end factory remote and has the 2-way functions you want.

kongzilla 11-01-2012 09:24 AM

I also have a compustar with drone. Love the damn thing.

Its safety system for manuals is genius.

Wicked 11-01-2012 10:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by premieras (Post 4139156)
I would HIGHLY recommend the FTX-2400 Remote from Compustar. We install remote starters for a living and can tell you that this is hands down the nicest aftermarket remote to ever come to market. The quality of this remote is unlike any we've ever seen. Feels and looks like a high end factory remote and has the 2-way functions you want.

Besides looks, what is the difference between that and the slice remote? Neither are LCD but the range is further with the slice. Where do you install remotes (State)? What does your shop change for any of these?

premieras 11-01-2012 04:17 PM

The range on both products is 4000'. The only difference is the look and the feel of the remotes. The slice is supposed to be a limited production piece(looks like compustar was bitten by the apple 'white is great' bug) The slice remote is nice and super thin, but IMO feels like every other aftermarket remote-cheap and plastic. We are located in Mass. Pricing depends on Year/Make/Model, as well as features.

DoctorLGT 11-01-2012 06:32 PM

http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-2W9000-SS.php I have the older version of the one in the link. Ive had in my legacy almost 7 years now. Its been flawless. The main remote broke once after the warrenty, called them, and they had a new one at my stoop within the week. If there was just a way to install the drone part of it without changing out the entire compustar system I have already I would.

Neltech 11-03-2012 02:52 PM

Installer here. Compustar is a great brand. It just makes sense they way they do things. The "extra parts and labor" on your car is going to be a bit more because of 2 different types of systems. If you go with a compustar 6000, 6200, or 6300 brain you'd use 1 BLADE interface module for your Immobilizer bypass, and another interface module (flcan or ads) to do your convenience (locks, factory alarm disarm).

There are both $100 a piece and a shop will most likely charge install on both interfaces (about $30 a piece).

You CAN use a 556U and give up a key but I think using 2 interfaces is a better option.

premieras 11-04-2012 08:02 AM

While the above post is accurate, most subies don't require the 2nd module bc everything is available in the BIM to the left of the steering column. (I.e keyless, factory alarm, etc...)

utc_pyro 11-05-2012 09:20 AM

Neltech is correct you need both modules. The reason for this is they are actually talking on two different CAN busses to the car. The integration unit talks via the low speed can bus to the BIU while the immobilizer talks to the ECU via the high speed bus. You tap into both busses off the BIU, but as they run a separate speeds you need two modules.

Neltech, as you're an installer maybe you can answer this: Is there any way to "at home" program a Blade-AL/ADS-AL with the KLON system? There arenít any Compustar installers within a reasonable distance of me, so if I'm going to get the setup I want I'll have to do it myself.

Neltech 11-06-2012 01:23 AM

as far as I know there is no way to "at home" program an flcan/ads/blade. you must be a dealer to program any of those. The login/cable you need is to flash a compustar brain/blade or and flcan/ads is the same login/cable. If you find a viper dealer in your town you may be able to sweet talk someone into flashing a module for you but its hard to say. You can probably buy an flcan/ads preflashed from ebay or something.

Wicked 11-06-2012 04:15 AM

Greeat info everyone, thank you but keep it coming.

28* this morning......anyone else have opinions on their remote starters?

branden00gtw 11-07-2012 10:05 PM

http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-2W9000-SS.php

I've got last years version I believe. Works great. No complaints at all. I also have 2010's version in my RS coupe. Also flawless.

Neltech 11-08-2012 01:51 PM

^that remote kit also comes with a thermister so it will tell you the interior temperature of your vehicle on the remote

Wicked 11-08-2012 02:07 PM

For you installers here, how much would you charge installed for http://www.compustar.com/remotes/RF-2W9000-SS.php in my '08 Legacy 3.0R? PM me if you don't want it on here. I would like to get an idea of what's a fair price I should expect.

lingling1337 11-08-2012 02:51 PM

Yeah a few people have checked in but no one has mentioned price. What did you guys end up paying installed? I thought I heard a figure around $600 at the local audio place


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.


LegacyGT.com