Subaru Legacy Forums

Subaru Legacy Forums (http://legacygt.com/forums/index.php)
-   Naturally Aspirated Powertrains (2.5i, 3.0R, 3.6R) (http://legacygt.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Fwd fuse (http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=187134)

09anderson 06-06-2012 08:06 PM

Fwd fuse
 
Anyone put this in? Of course it's only for automatics. Any powrr gains from that?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

09anderson 06-06-2012 08:13 PM

I'm wondering if you get back some of the drive train loss or if it's a waste..its got to be better on gas because the engine is working less

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

ItalianLegacy 06-06-2012 08:14 PM

no idea what ur talkin about

09anderson 06-06-2012 08:20 PM

Whatttttttttt! Lol discovered it on my 96 impreza and on the legacy it is on the fuse box under the hood. The is a spot for a fuse that is labeled fwd. Its only for automatic cars but it is a true fwd. Not sure if it will work with the turbo version tho

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

lilbrudder 06-06-2012 08:41 PM

had it in my svx, it really does only put power to the front tires. I don't think it was any performance gain though, fun if you like torque steer. didn't really keep the fuse in long enough to tell about fuel economy.

ItalianLegacy 06-06-2012 10:42 PM

I'm soo curious now!! BUMP!

lilbrudder 06-06-2012 11:08 PM

What are you so curious about...go stick a fuse in it if you have the slot. It's for diagnostics of some sort if I remember correctly.

Leviman 06-07-2012 01:15 AM

It's for towing. You can put the car on a tow dolly with the fuse in.

ShrinerMonkey 06-07-2012 07:25 AM

Rtfm
 
No it is not for towing, it is for driving on the small temporary spare so that you don't ruin the differentials. You wouldn't need to switch the car to FWD if you were using a dolly as all 4 wheels would be off the ground which is how our cars must be towed anyway. RTFM

GEE-OTTO 06-07-2012 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 09anderson (Post 3926983)
I'm wondering if you get back some of the drive train loss or if it's a waste..its got to be better on gas because the engine is working less

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2



Is this thread actually happening:mad: Leave that damn fuse alone, never think about touching it again if you are worried about MPG's buy a 3 cyl Geo Metro.

:lol::lol::lol::rolleyes::p

cseagle08 06-07-2012 01:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GEE-OTTO (Post 3927504)
Is this thread actually happening:mad: Leave that damn fuse alone, never think about touching it again if you are worried about MPG's buy a 3 cyl Geo Metro.

:lol::lol::lol::rolleyes::p


My thoughts EXACTLY! Now if there were a RWD only fuse...:spin:

GEE-OTTO 06-07-2012 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cseagle08 (Post 3928014)
My thoughts EXACTLY! Now if there were a RWD only fuse...:spin:

^My other thought exactly :lol::lol:

halwith 06-07-2012 07:55 PM

the power gains from inserting the fuse are truely astronomical. i recommend using it at all times. removeing the driveshaft and rear diff and rear shafts will also save weight and improve mpgs.

after this gut the interrior and replace all windows with plexiglass. if you havent seen amazing huge gains in hp and mpg then you should start thinking about cutting out some of the body reinforcement members. after all they add alot of weight, and the best way for gains to to shed weight. you can also remove the entire dashboard. just use jbweld to mount the cluster to the firewall. dashboards are heavy so you will see gains there. good luck.

ItalianLegacy 06-07-2012 08:23 PM

also heard replacing all seats with portapotty seats will also free up some weight and show gains.

jav2.5 06-07-2012 08:27 PM

I put the fuse in and it disabled my AWD and the Four Wheel Drive kicked, weird.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


LegacyGT.com