LegacyGT.com

96 Legacy transmission removal

I will be changing transmissions in two weeks, but first I get to pull one from a yard close by. The drive to the nearest yard is 120 miiles so my question is does anyone have an actual required tools list for pulling a transmission on a 96 legacy L. I'd like to be prepared before I drive that far and while I have a large toolbox I'm taking with me, having any specialty tool already with me would be great.

Also any tips or tricks that some of you know would be great too.

Full disclosure right away -- I'm a novice at this, but my son and I did it a few weeks ago on a 1995. So you may well know more than I do! However:

If I were you, I would not go alone -- take a keen and beefy friend. And depending upon the setup, I would not go without a transmission jack, a floor jack, and a scissor jack -- just in case. Also, I would take a variety of wood scraps -- pieces of 2x4 and perhaps a board or 2. A board a half and inch thick, one foot by a foot and a half, for instance might be useful to keep the trans level as it's lowered.

You'll need to knock out the pins attaching each axle, so don't forget a hammer and a set of punches. I think the size you'll need is 3/16th. I have one and it works -- kinda -- but it's a bit too short -- so take a nail of similar diameter so you can knock it right through and out cleanly and not waste time.

There are 4 flex-plate bolts to remove through a hole in the engine housing. I think they are 10mm, so a small (1/4in) ratchet with 10mm socket and 3 inch extension might speed that along. And in case you need to retrieve bolts, a long magnetic retriever tool and grabber tools might come in handy.