LegacyGT.com

Rotor and caliper do not line up right.

Nepkire

Hello I have an issue I am unsure what is causing the problem. fyi I am a newbie to working on cars as this is the first carI have ever done any work on.

My rotor was grinding on the caliper mount as the initial problem. I needed to turn the rotor and buy a new caliper (the old one was covered in rust and the pins did not move well. After I had the rotor turned I tried to put it back together with the new caliper and ran into this problem.

One picture is the caliper mount and rotor, the caliper mount's bolts have not been tightened all the way and could not without damaging the rotor.

In the other photo I took the rotor off and tightened the bolts on the caliper mount all the way to show how it sits.

I have no clue why this is so far off.

484842567_photo3.thumb.jpg.d36620a396e9b118fcfbffca506f18d2.jpg

107895869_photo2.thumb.jpg.8236429b28ea4d68c59f4d34d6966bf4.jpg

In the first picture, the rotor definitely looks like it might be on the hub crooked, it appears to be tilting forward more towards the top of the image. Make sure the brake rotor is fully seated on the hub.

When you're looking at the rotor, make sure the part of the hub I circled in red below is sticking out an even amount.

I'd also be careful with reattaching the brake line to the new caliper. I've never installed a new caliper, but I'd be worried about the possibility of introducing air into the brake line.

brake.thumb.jpg.627deee036c621c9e48257345cb9f48c.jpg

Definitely make sure the rotor is flat against the hub. You can always use one/two lug nuts to make it flat against it. Hand tight is good enough.

That really does look off. Did they give you the right brake caliper and bracket?