LegacyGT.com

Is it bad to mess with a coil's spring preload?

Buzzman

I'm brand new to coilovers and in attempt to fit my wheels I'm going to adjust the ride height. However, I wasn't sure if adjusting the preload would have any benefit? Or am I not suppose to mess with the setting at all?

Thanks.

If the spring is loose - i.e not pre-loaded (i.e the car is dumped) you loose travel, which equals a rougher ride.

Can you wind the strut insert up and down or is it just the spring that can be changed?

Preload is one of those adjustable factors, so you can adjust it; the question is: do you want to? Coilovers are generally made with pretty close to the right spring rate for the dampers without any significant additional preload. You can add more if you want to firm up the handling (and the ride at the same time).

The way they are usually set up from the factory and the way that I've read most folks here recommend that they be set up is to loosen the collar until you can move the spring up and down just a bit, then crank it back down a few turns. You should still be able to rotate the spring by hand, but there should be no up and down or free loose motion by the spring. (If your suspension is very noisy when driving, you're still a little too loose.)

This is essentially, no preload or minimum preload. This is at least where you should start with your coilover setup. If you still want a firmer ride and handling response, then add some additional preload. Note that as little as 5mm or less in spring preload compression is a *significant* increase in overall suspension stiffness. If you adjust preload, you will only need to do it a few collar turns/mm at a time.