LegacyGT.com

wrapping DP/UP 2 years AFTER install?

iNVAR

About 2 years ago, I went stage 2 with an Invidia catted DP. At the time, I didn't think I'd need wrap... but in the last 2 years, I've noticed that the engine bay is extremely hot after a drive, especially since I sit in traffic in NYC frequently. Heatsoak sucks!

Anyways, I'm sure eventually my VF40's going to kick the bucket, and I figured when that happens, it'd be a good time to remove the DP and UP and wrap them.

Is it too late to wrap the pipes then? I'm worried that corrosion will get trapped inside. Should I not do it?

If it's okay to do, what steps should I take to prepare the pipes? Scrub them down with a cleaner? (Bar Keeper's Friend worked on my polished stainless tips, maybe use the same stuff here?)

Thanks.

I wouldn't do anything to the DP. May be have the catless UP ceramic coated.

Do you change your oil at 3000-3500 miles ? I think that is more important.

But I'm no expert

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

If and when the turbo dies, it wouldn't hurt to wrap both. However it wouldn't be totally necessary. It does lower the heat coming out of my engine bay a bit with my dp wrapped. I will most likely be wrapping any after market header and up combo I get eventually. I have not seen any rust or corrosion forming on my pipe.

If you are really worried about corrosion and heat soak, I would do what Max Capacity suggested and have your pipes media blasted and ceramic coated. Then if you want to wrap them again you would have the corrosion front covered.

I have had my pipes wrapped on both my 06 and now my 08. If I had the money and patience I would get them ceramic coated as well. This is all rather overkill in my opinion btw, but still its the small things.

2008 6mt Legacy Gt Spec B DGM - Not so Stock/Work in progress

2006 5mt Legacy Gt OBP - Sold